SRE Doug Ogden Best Paper Award

This prestigious award is named in the memory of SRE Fellow Douglas J. Ogden.  The award is presented at the Annual Reliability and Maintainability Symposium (RAMS®) in January of each year for the best paper presented by an SRE member. The award consists of a certificate of recognition and a $5,000 cash award.

The late Doug Ogden left an indelible mark on the reliability engineering community. Whether it was with a smile and joke or via thoughtful advice, Doug impacted many engineers’ lives and enriched their path on their reliability journey. A longtime ReliaSoft Executive, Doug helped bridge the technology gap in the industry and was instrumental in the disciplines growth into the recognized force that it is today. As President and founding member of the SRE Arizona Chapter, Doug proudly represented the SRE Mission & Principles by aiding in the establishment of a culture of recognition and acceptance that continues to foster the need for reliability engineers and highlights their overall importance to manufacturing & engineering. 

SRE Stan Ofsthun Best Student Paper Award

This award recognizes the best technical paper by an SRE student author/coauthor accepted for presentation at the Annual RAMS® Conference. At least one of the coauthors must be an SRE member.  The award consists of a certificate of recognition and $1,000 CASH. The "Call for Papers" appears early each year. Abstracts must be submitted to RAMS® and to the SRE by April. The criteria for the Stan Ofsthun Award are (1) at least one of the coauthors beiing an student member of SRE, (2) the paper being approved for presentation at the annual Reliability and Maintainability Symposium (RAMS®), and (3) being selected by the SRE Paper Awards Committee. SRE members can submit their papers submitted to RAMS®, to the SRE paper Awards Committee (see below).

The late Stan Ofsthun of Sierra Research, was the first president of the SRE in 1971 and 1972. As a member of the Buffalo Chapter from its earliest beginnings, he was responsible for initially leading SRE beyond its beginnings in Buffalo to the present organization with more than twenty chapters worldwide.

Nominations should be sent to:

SRE Paper Awards Committee
C/O Dr. J. A. Nachlas